Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

Marion C. and Edwin Link: Special Collections

Information about IRSC's Marion C. Link Lab and access to Edwin and Marion Link digital collections and books.

Florida Institute of Technology

The Evans Library at the Florida Institute of Technology (FIT) in Melbourne, FL hosts a special collection of materials chronicling Edwin A. Link's pioneering research and engineering in aviation and underwater exploration. They have digitized much of their Edwin A. and Marion Link Special Collection which can be viewed online. Click here to browse FIT's digital special collections.

 

Binghamton University

The Binghamton University Libraries in Binghamton, NY host the Binghamton University's Edwin A. Link and Marion Clayton Link Collections. The Link Collections include approximately 25,000 items that tell the history of Edwin A. Link, Marion C. Link, and the Link Foundation from 1939 through the 1990's. Many of the items have been digitized and can be viewed online at the Link Digital Archives.

Roberson Museum and Science Center

The Roberson Museum and Science Center in Binghamton, NY houses an exhibit "Vision and Innovation: The Legacy of Edwin A. Link". Photos of the items and related videos can be viewed online here

Smithsonian Institution

The Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce is located at 701 Seaway Drive in Ft. Pierce, FL. In 1969, Ed Link chose Ft. Pierce as the location for his continued ocean exploration research and the development and engineering of submersibles.

The Smithsonian Institution hosts some information and photographs of the Links in their digital collections. Click the links below to view some of the digitized content:

Edwin A. Link Lecture and Dinner

Ed Link: flight simulator pioneer

Link Celestial Navigation Trainer

Link A-12 Sextant

Wartime Advertisement for the Link A-12 Sextant