Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

AML2010 Glover Jon Mueller: Articles

Students in Dr. Glover's American Literature class can use this guide to help find sources for their annotated bibliographies.

Suggested Databases for Literary Criticism

Try these online databases to find literary criticisms, peer-reviewed articles, and other scholarly information about your topic.

Remember to choose FULL TEXT, if available.

Search Tips

Truncation  Add an asterisk (*) to a root word to expand your search. For example, searching with the term femin* will result in articles containing the keywords feminist, feminism, feminine.

Limiting   Limit your results by searching for full text, peer reviewed, date, and other limiters

 

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

What is Scholarly?

When your instructor asks you to find "scholarly" articles, what does that mean? Scholarly articles:

  • contain a bibliography or list of references
  • are written by scholars or researchers in a particular field
  • are often longer than 5 pages
  • use complex language, specific to a field
  • may contain charts or graphs with data

 

What is NOT Scholarly?

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)

 

 

 

Literary Criticism vs. Book Reviews

You are probably familiar with book reviews. Book reviews are usually a small paragraph in a newspaper or magazine that comments on a book. Book reviews are written for everyone, click here to see one from The New York Times.

Literary criticism is a longer, in-depth analysis about an author, a literary work, or even a single character, theme, or occurence in a literary work. When searching for research to write a paper in a college level literature class, you NEED to use literary criticism, click here to see an example from the Journal of International Social Research.

The databases will offer both. Make sure you can tell the difference.

Ben Franklin's idea of democracy today (Academic Search Complete database articles)

Articles like these might be used for an essay on Ben Franklin's 'democracy' (from Academic Search Complete database).

Title: "Democracy is Dead"
Author: Paul Kingsnorth
Source: New Internationalist , 373 pp. 34-35
************
Title: "Rediscovering the Roots of American Democracy"
Author: Maria Morocco
Source: Human Rights Vol. 17 Issue 3 (1990) pp.38-39

 

 

Citizenship in American society (JSTOR database articles)

Here are some articles from the JSTOR database that might be relevant to the topic.

Title: "Democratic Renewal and Cultural Inertia: Why Our Best Efforts Fall Short"
Author: Robert Wuthnow
Source: Sociological Forum, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Sep., 2005), pp. 343-367
************
Title: "Reading's Impact on Democratic Citizenship in America"
Authors: Stephen Earl Bennett, Staci L. Rhine and Richard S. Flickinger
Source: Political Behavior, Vol. 22, No. 3 (Sep., 2000), pp. 167-195
************
Title: "What Kind of Citizen? The Politics of Educating for Democracy"
Authors: Joel Westheimer and Joseph Kahne
Source: American Eduational Research Journal, Vol. 41, No. 2 (Summer, 2004), pp. 237-269
************