Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

STEM: Articles

About IRSC's Online Databases

The College provides access to over 100 online databases. IRSC databases contain thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers, as well as eBooks, art work and images.

Students have instant access to these databases via the Web. The public can use the College databases by visiting any IRSC library.

Students click here to LOGIN!

Free Open Access Databases

Open Access databases do not necessarily provide full-text access to all resources; however, they do provide another avenue to information. Check with the College librarians to learn how you, as a student, can obtain these resources in full-text format. Oftentimes, the librarians can obtain these articles through interlibrary loan, a service where libraries share copies of needed resources. We advise you not to pay for information that the librarians may be able to obtain at no cost.

Navigate to IRSC's Databases

Click HERE to go to the login screen.

For IRSC Students: To access the library databases, your Borrower ID is your Student ID and your PIN is the MMDD of your birth. This PIN is different from your registration or Angel PIN. If you are unable to access the databases from home, call the nearest IRSC campus library for assistance. 

For IRSC employees: To access the library databases, your Borrower ID is your Personnel ID (PID) and your PIN is the MMDD of your birth.  If you do not know your PID, log into the Mariner Online Employee Information system (password protected) located on the Faculty/Staff webpage. Your PID is listed below your name under Employee Details. Contact the library staff if you encounter difficulties accessing the eResources.

IRSC Library Database Login Screen

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases. 

Database Login for Students

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID.

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

How to Log In to the IRSC Libraries' Databases

How to Login to IRSC Databases from Off-Campus

Login to the databases from anywhere you have Internet access. From the IRSC Library homepage, click on Find Articles. Then click on Databases by Subject. You will be asked for your Borrower ID and PIN. Your Borrower ID is your IRSC Student ID. Your PIN is the MMDD of your birth. For example, if you were born on July 31st, your PIN will be 0731. This PIN is different from your registration or Angel PIN. If you are unable to access the databases from home, call the nearest IRSC campus library for assistance.