Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

ENC1101 Knapp Main: Articles

A research guide for Professor Knapp's ENC1101 students at the Main Campus

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases. 

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

You must login to display your search results.

Database Login for Students

To get to the databases, start at www.irsc.edu

Click Libraries on the bottom left

Click Find Articles

Click Databases by Subject

Login to the databases.

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID.

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher Logo

 

CQ Researcher is the Congressional Quarterly of the US Congress. This journal provides unbiased research on many of the bills and amendments put before Congress. Each topic provdes a timeline for you to track the milestones of a topic as it goes through the legislature.

Select News & Current Events to access this database from the list after you log-in.

Click here to log-in to CQ Researcher at IRSC.

Additional Suggested Databases

Searching Databases

When searching databases you can be more specific with your keywords because you are searching the full-text of the items you return in a search. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. Most colleges offer a database listing by subject, helping you narrow down your choices.

CQ's Hot Topics

Below are weekly updated RSS feeds from the CQ Researcher database. To read the full-text of these articles, click on a title then login to view the article.

Loading