Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

CCJ4054 Amandro Main: Articles

A research guide for Professor Amandro's Criminal Justice Ethics and Liability students

Keywords

Keywords

When searching databases, use various combinations of keywords to exhaust your search possibilities. No database is "smart." The database simply searches for the words you type.

privacy rights

fourth amendment

search and seizure

gps and privacy

civil liberties



Database Login for Students

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID.

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

Recommended Databases

Try these online databases to find scholarly articles. Remember to choose FULL TEXT when available. Click the Social Sciences subject to display the databases listed below.

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.