Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

HSC2802 Dandy Roscoe Main: Articles

A research guide for Dr. Dandy's Health Science Seminar students.

General Databases

Keywords to use to find information about a profession include; career, job, skills, education, training, and employment.

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

Database Login for Students

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID.

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

Students, choose a database below to find health related articles.

Testing & Education Reference Center

Find the Testing & Education Reference Center database under the Reference subject heading in the list of databases by subject. Type in Career Assessment in the search box. Here you will find a career assessment you can take to match your personality to compatible job skills. You must register as a user to use the resources, but registration is free. Access many more resources by exploring the links.

Health Databases

Try these online databases to find health related peer-reviewed articles about your topic. Remember to choose FULL TEXT. Click the Health and Medicine subject to display the databases listed below.