Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

SLS1101 Kauffmann Laura Mueller: Books

This guide provides resources for students enrolled in Laura Kauffmann's Student Success course (SLS1101).

Books at the Brackett Library, Mueller Campus

Books at the Brackett Library are organized in the Indian River County Library System using the Dewey Decimal system. You will need an Indian River County Library card to check out books.

  • 1st floor: Fiction, children and young adult books, DVD and CD collections
  • 2nd floor: Public computers, reference, non-fiction, and reserve books

The RESERVES collection, located on the second floor of the library, contains literary criticism.

Some criticisms may also be found in the NONFICTION section. These books can be checked out for two week periods.

Use the county's online catalog to find books in the Brackett Library.

(search results open in a new window)

Search for Books

Click to search the

IRSC Library Catalog

for physical materials found at the libraries.

Career Titles

Find eBooks at IRSC

To get to the databases, start at www.irsc.edu

Click Libraries on the bottom left

Click Find eResources (Articles)

Click Databases by Subject

Login to the databases.

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (for employees it is your PID).

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

Digital Books Database Screen

Samples from the Book Collection (EBSCO)

Try searching with the term 'career' and the name of the career you are researching. Take note of th publication date of the books you find. Some materials may be dated.

Request an Item

IRSC can borrow many different titles from other libraries. If you have a specific title you want, you can search for it using the IRSC full catalog by changing the At search to All 28 Colleges. If you find the title there, click on the college name at the bottom of the record and then click 'Request' to request the book from that college. If you are looking for a specific article or book not found in the catalog, use the Request an Item form below to borrow the material from another library.