Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

ENC1102 Tilney Barbara Mueller: Articles

This guide is intended to help students locate and use the best sources for information about your author(s).

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases. 

Background Information

Literary encyclopedias and series are sources that can help acquaint you with an author and his/her works.

Gale's Virtual Reference Library is an online database that contains many such resources. You may want to try this database to help you find general background information on your author.

Suggested Databases for Literary Research

Try these online databases to find literary criticisms, peer-reviewed articles, and other scholarly information about your author and novel.

Remember to choose FULL TEXT, if available.

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)