Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

ENC1101 Tilney Barbara Mueller: Articles

The guide is designed to assist students in Barbara Tilney's ENC1101 classes.

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)

 

 

 

CQ Researcher Feeds

An RSS feed from a popular scholarly database. The CQ Researcher provides overviews of timely topics. To view the full-text of these articles, you will need to log-in to your library's database. 

Loading

Primary versus Secondary Sources

Primary sources:

provide direct or firsthand evidence of an event or person |  creative sources can be primary sources  historical documents |  legal documents statistics | interviews video recordings | audio recordings photographs correspondence including emails and letters

Secondary sources:

provide a summary, analysis, evaluation, or opinion about primary sources | journal articles |  literary criticism | books | films and documentaries

Finding Articles Online

ARTICLES

Use IRSC's ONLINE DATABASES to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles on your topic. The databases also contain books and many interesting articles from major newspapers and other well known publications.

The databases gather the best information for your research, so you don't have to sift through the myriad of resources available on the Web.

Here are suggested databases for your research.

Suggested Databases for Argumentative Formal Essay and Oral Presentation

The following databases are located under the News and Current Events subject heading in the database list after you log in.

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography