Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

DES1800 Pelletier Mary Main: Articles

A research guide for students in Professor Pelletier's Introduction to Clinical Procedures class.

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases. 

IRSC Dental Journals

Journal titles physically available at the Miley Library on Main Campus include:

  • Journal of Dental Education 
  • Journal of Dental Technology
  • Journal of Periodontology 
  • Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry 

Journal titles physically available in the Dental Department include:

  •  Access
  • Inside Dentistry
  • Journal of Dental Hygiene
  • Journal of Professional Excellence  - Dimension
  • Journal of the American Dental Association
  • Preventive Angle: Compendium
  • Today’s FDA (Florida Dental Association Journal)

Limit Your Search to Dental Journals

When searching a single database like MEDLINE with Full Text or CINAHL Plus Full Text you can limit your search to only dental journals. Because these databases contain articles from journals in all medical disciplines, this tactic can be very useful in weeding out non-dental journals. Follow these steps to make sure you're only seeing results from dental journals:

  • In the first search box type dent* . The asterisk is a "wildcard" that tells the database to search for all words with the root word "dent". This will retrieve words like dental, dentist, dentistry etc.
  • Select "SO Publication Name" from the dropdown menu to the right of the first search box.

This search strategy will only retrieve articles from journals with words like dental, dentist, or dentistry in their titles.

Remember to check "Full Text". Type in a keyword in the second or third search box and click the green "Search" button.

Searching Multiple Databases

Dental journals can be found in more than one database. The box below this one lists all databases containing dental journals. Many of the journals are in EBSCO databases. Follow these steps to search all of the EBSCO databases at once:

  • Log in following the steps in the box above and view the databases by subject.
  • Click "Health and Medicine".
  • Click "MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO).
  • Click "Connect to Database". A new window should open displaying the MEDLINE search interface.
  • At the top of the page, click the "Choose Databases" link.
  • Check "Select All" and click the "Ok" button.

Health and Medical Databases

Once you login to the database list, select the Health and Medicine databases. Health and Medicine Databases frequently used by dental students and faculty include the following titles. If you need articles on related areas, review the database list by subject. 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)

Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale)

Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)

Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)

Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR) (Micromedex)

Thomson Healthcare Series

Open Access Dental Journals

Open access journals are not password protected. When using open access content, be sure to note whether or not the articles are peer-reviewed.