Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

Music: Articles

About IRSC's Online Databases

The College provides access to over 100 online databases. IRSC databases contain thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers, as well as eBooks, art work and images.

Students have instant access to these databases via the Web. The public can use the College databases by visiting any IRSC library.

Students click here to LOGIN!

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases. 

Grove Music Online

The Grove Music Online database provides full text access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz among other key scholarly works published by the Oxford University Press..