Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

SPC1608 Wood-Harvin Courtney Chastain: Articles

Research help for your speech class a the Chastain campus.

CQ's Hot Topics

Below are weekly updated RSS feeds from the CQ Researcher database. To read the full-text of these articles you must first log-in to IRSC's databases.

Loading

How to Login to IRSC Databases from Off-Campus

Login to the databases from anywhere you have Internet access. From the IRSC Library homepage, click on Find eResources (Articles). Then click on Databases by Subject. You will be asked for your Borrower ID and PIN. Your Borrower ID is your IRSC Student ID. Your PIN is the MMDD of your birth. For example, if you were born on July 31st, your PIN will be 0731. This PIN is different from your registration or Blackboard PIN. If you are unable to access the databases from home, call the nearest IRSC campus library for assistance.

Suggested Databases for an Informative Speech

Depending on your topic, you can choose from a variety of databases. This is when the databases by subject listing comes in handy. If you're not sure where to look, try the ones under the "General" or "Reference" subject headings.

Suggested Databases for a Persuasive/Argumentative Speech

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.