Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

SPC1608 Wood-Harvin Courtney Chastain: Books

Research help for your speech class a the Chastain campus.

Suggested Books for an Informative Speech

If you need ideas for an informative topic you can use this search strategy to find a variety of books on different subjects at the library. Search for the keyword 'Encyclopedia' and browse the listings for ideas. If you have an idea for a topic, search for the main keyword(s) to find books on your topic.

Informative Speech topics can be:

     How to...      History of...      Famous...      Strategies for...

    All about...    Origins of...      Reviews of...  Compare and contrast... 


Suggested Book Series for an Argumentative/Persuasive Speech

The library collects a few different series of books that are produced for the college student giving an argumentative speech. Many times these series are compilations of several different scholarly authors' work on the same topic. Sometimes they will give you the pro of an issue and then the con of the issue, making it easy to read both sides of a controversy in two short chapters! Look for the following series by name using the keyword search option in the IRSC catalog.

Search for Books

IRSC Catalog Search

When to Use the Online Catalog

The catalog is your main access point to locate physical materials found within the library, as well as eBooks and eAudiobooks. Print books, eBooks, print journals, DVDs, audiobooks, and government publications can all be found by conducting a keyword, author, title, or subject search in the catalog. You may also find Internet resources in the catalog. Click here to access IRSC's online library catalog

The catalog search will look for words in the title, abstract, major subject headings, and (sometimes) tables of content. When searching the catalog, it is important to remember that you are not searching the full text of these items. For this reason, you will get a much smaller, but more precise, return on a search than you would in a database or Internet search. If you have a very narrow search term, you will need to use broader terms to find materials on the subject. 

Find eBooks at IRSC

To get to the databases, start at www.irsc.edu

Click Libraries on the bottom left

Click Find Articles

Click Databases by Subject

Login to the databases.

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (for employees it is your PID).

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

 

 

Digital Books Database